Concert Review

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Photo review: Tom Petty doesn't back down at the Amalie Arena

Posted By on Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 1:45 PM

DRUNK CAMERA GUY
  • Drunk Camera Guy

The recently re-named Amalie Arena was full of boomers when Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers landed in town this past Sunday evening. Special guest opener Steve Winwood warmed and wooed with strong vocals, impassioned piano playing and guitar strumming, and a pair of luxurious white muttonchops. Petty sparked an instant connection during his own headlining performance, pausing often to point, smile, and chat between songs. He's never been shy about his enjoyment of marijuana, and at one point he joked that 1991 was a great year even though "Into the Great Wide Open" was just about all he remembered of it. The 64-year-old was clearly having a blast, as were all the fans who'd come out to see him on this night... [More photos after the jump...]

Continue reading »

Tags: , , ,

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Concert review: Experience Hendrix at Ruth Eckerd Hall, Clearwater

A look back at the traveling tribute show, with photos.

Posted By and on Tue, Sep 23, 2014 at 12:27 PM

Zakk Wylde, Experience Hendrix - TRACY MAY
  • Tracy May
  • Zakk Wylde, Experience Hendrix

A white-bearded gentleman in tie-dye sat alone outside Ruth Eckerd Hall amid a cloud of smoke, fashioning a long feather earring, a Rasta-colored pucca shell necklace, and a black cigar holster. A cluster of other Hendrix die-hards ambled around, beers in hand and leather abound, all anticipating the Experience Hendrix Tour — an all-star tribute to the late great guitarist this past Sat., Sept. 20.

“If you think you’ll break out your air guitar at some point tonight, raise your hands,” a radio host from The Eagle 107.3-FM asked, prompting a few middle-aged women to get to their feet before the show even started. After a wildly successful roundabout this past spring, the tour launched another national excursion and landed in Clearwater with an impressive roster of musicians ranging from Johnny Lang to Noah Hunt, Zakk Wylde, Rich Robinson and Buddy Guy.

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Concert review: Erasure brings thumping club music to Mahaffey Theater, St. Petersburg

A look back at the Sun., Sept. 14 show.

Posted By and on Tue, Sep 16, 2014 at 12:59 PM

Erasure at Mahaffey Theater Sun., Sept. 14, 2014. - DRUNKCAMERAGUY.COM
  • Drunkcameraguy.com
  • Erasure at Mahaffey Theater Sun., Sept. 14, 2014.

For only being a two-man operation, Erasure sure knows how to kick up a huge cloud of glittery dust and throw a hell of a party. The synth-pop twosome who got their start in the mid-1980s have continued to rack up an impressive amount of dance club hits and a wide array of gold and platinum-selling albums. The long-lasting adoration for the British pair can be mostly attributed to a ravenous, die-hard dedicated fanbase. Just ask any of the giddy attendees who danced and sang along during the band's nearly sold-out 90-minute performance at St. Petersburg's lovely Mahaffey Theater this past Sunday night. [Text by Gabe, photos by DCG]

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Concert review: Ty Segall tears through the Skatepark of Tampa

The California wonderkid laid a hot heap of raw rock on the SPOT.

Posted By on Sun, Sep 14, 2014 at 10:41 PM

Ty_Segall-7029.jpg

Whether it's age, booze or both, you see enough live music and you're bound to forget a few shows. What I can only hope is that the memory of Friday night’s Ty Segall show at Skatepark of Tampa stays as raw and joyous as it was after the last crackling note buzzed from SPOT's speakers. [Text by Andrew, photos by Tracy.]

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Photo review: Lily Allen brings Sheezus to the House of Blues, Orlando

Posted By on Sun, Sep 14, 2014 at 10:30 PM

Drunk Camera Guy
  • Drunk Camera Guy

I'll admit that I was a little worried when I walked into the House of Blues this past Wed., Sept. 10, and saw the stage decked out in giant baby bottles. Lily Allen's new album is a strange dichotomy of self-conscious mom and bad-ass bitch, and the decor had me worried that I was going to be seeing only one side of things.


Continue reading »

Tags: , , ,

Monday, August 25, 2014

Photo review: Birthday girl Tori Amos gives Ruth Eckerd Hall a gift

Posted By on Mon, Aug 25, 2014 at 1:08 AM

Tori Amos, Ruth Eckerd Hall, August 22, 2014 - DRUNCAMERAGUY
  • Druncameraguy
  • Tori Amos, Ruth Eckerd Hall, August 22, 2014

Tori Amos spent her 51st birthday with a crowd of fans in tiaras and feather headbands this past Friday night at Ruth Eckerd Hall in Clearwater.

Continue reading »

Tags: , ,

Monday, August 18, 2014

Concert review: WMNF Groovefest 5 at Skipper's Smokehouse, Tampa

A look back at the Saturday fest; photos included.

Posted By on Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 10:18 PM

Holey Miss Moley - ANDY WARRENER
  • Andy Warrener
  • Holey Miss Moley
I pumped WMNF on my way to Groovefest 5 and the Saturday Soulful Soiree proved the perfect warm-up to the station's event, which found me arriving in the midst of a set by Holey Miss Moley. The impressive multi-piece Clermont-based ensemble was laying down thick layers of funk marked by the howling solos of alto saxx player Christian Ryan (also of Orlando-based reggae group I-Resolution). Lead guitarist Jacob Cox — whom I'd seen on stage with Come Back Alice the last time I visited the Skipperdome — looked right at home on stage with the group, vocalist Danny Clemmons held the crowd captivated with his presence and energy (dude can really wail), and the Reverend Funky D (who plays in a few other groups and leads The Funky Seeds) delivered a dose of some ol' time religion as he went off on keys in hyper-funky, choppy-sticky passages ranging from instrumentals showcasing each individual artists' talents like "Nagatuk" to vocals-fueled numbers ala "Ain't No Use," "Ja Jam" and "Sho' 'Nuff."

"We love the vibe and reception we get here, we love playing here," Clemmons said later.

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Concert review: Miniature Tigers at Crowbar, Kishi Bashi at New World Brewery, Ybor City

A look back at the Tue., Aug. 12 shows.

Posted By and on Thu, Aug 14, 2014 at 3:30 PM

Two concerts, one Tuesday night. The first, Miniature Tigers at Crowbar, delivered on upbeat dance-time fun and whetted my appetite for the second, Kishi Bashi at New World Brewery, which was transcendent, heart-squeezing tender, rousing, and it not only made me get down with full-on wild abandon but literally had me jumping up and down like a mad fool with a big ‘ol shit-eating grin on my face. [Text by Leilani, photos by Brian unless otherwise noted.]

Miniature Tigers at Crowbar Tue., Aug. 12. - BRIAN MAHAR
  • Brian Mahar
  • Miniature Tigers at Crowbar Tue., Aug. 12.

In defense of Miniature Tigers, I only knew a few tracks but I’d heard good things about the Phoenix fivesome's live show and wanted to check it out. They didn’t disappoint with their fresh and adorable exuberance, and they were particularly excited to see the 150-plus people enjoy their Tampa debut. Their sound varied between sweetly nostalgic and infectiously peppy indie pop with muscular rockin’ rhythms and Beatles-esque vocal harmonies, to more synth-grooving dance numbers with R&B-velvety vocals or dreamier croons. There was a heavy focus on material from just-released fourth LP, Cruel Runnings, and they kicked off the set with that album’s first track, “Swimming Pool Blues,” part of its refrain a four-verse dose of “Yeah-Yeah-Yeah-Yeah-Yeah”’s that prompted head-bobbing and bopping from the cluster of folks around the stage.

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , ,

Concert review: Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden storm MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheater

A look back at the Mon., Aug. 11 show; photos & slideshow included

Posted By and on Thu, Aug 14, 2014 at 1:13 AM

Us kids have a thing or two learn from the original grungeheads. I say “kids” because I was perhaps the youngest person out of the 9,500 people who flooded the MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheater to see Soundgarden and Nine Inch Nails Monday night, apart from the 14-year-old who spewed the occasional “MOM!” behind me. It’s been five years since Nine Inch Nails last played Tampa, 18 for Soundgarden, and the response was an enthusiastic one. [Text by Jackie, photos by Tracy.]

Soundgarden - TRACY MAY
  • Tracy May
  • Soundgarden

While I’m proud to announce that my first intro to the alternative rock icons was while listening to “Hand That Feeds” and Superunkown in the car with my mom on the way to second grade (for questions/concerns about my childhood, my email is provided below), it’s the older, since-day-one cult following who comprises the true fandom — which, I suppose, explains the 30 million albums sold collectively between the two bands on this bill.

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , ,

Monday, August 11, 2014

Photo review: Linkin Park with Thirty Seconds to Mars and AFI at Steinbrenner Field

A look back at the "Carnivores Tour" stop in Tampa

Posted By on Mon, Aug 11, 2014 at 12:43 PM

AFI, Thirty Seconds to Mars and headliner Linkin Park performed before a crowd of 14,391 at George M. Steinbrenner Field this past Sat., Aug. 9. With a max concert capacity of 17,000 (10,000 seated plus 7,000 on the field), that's not a bad way to introduce yourself to Bay Area music scene as a brand new arena-size concert venue.

Mike Shinoda and Chester Bennington of Linkin Park - TRACY MAY
  • Tracy May
  • Mike Shinoda and Chester Bennington of Linkin Park

A slight hiccup in the form of a 15-minute delay seemed to be the only stumbling block to the evening's activities. But once alt Rockers AFI hit the stage, everything else ran according to plan. [More photos after the jump...]

Continue reading »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Search Events

Ear Buds Top Topics

Concerts (55)


Local Music (43)


Concerts (21)


Concert Review (16)


Music Issue 2014 (14)


New Music Tuesday! (14)


News (11)


Local Music (10)


Video (10)


Album Review (10)


© 2014 SouthComm, Inc.
Powered by Foundation

Web Analytics