Tuesday, February 19, 2013

New Music Tuesday! (February 19): Major Lazer, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, STRFKR & more

Albums out this week, with lots of audio & video included.

Posted By on Tue, Feb 19, 2013 at 12:00 PM

This week's a doozie for new music. Tons of albums out, so many I just couldn't keep up. I've included info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months.

Anders & Kendall, Wild Chorus (Nine Mile Records)

Apparat, Krieg und Frieden (Music for Theatre) (Mute)

As They Burn, Will, Love, Life (Victory)

Atlas Genius, When It Was Now (Warner Bros.)

Beach Fossils, Clash The Truth (Captured Tracks)

bentcousin, Everybody's Gone One (Team Love Records)

Big Wreck, Albatross (Zoe/Rounder)

Buckcherry, Confessions (Century Media)

Camp Fires, Tomorrow, Tomorrow (Fire Talk)

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Push the Sky Away (Anti-)
Deep-voiced gothic/post-punk Aussie rocker Cave delivers his 15th album with the Bad Seeds; according to Cave, its songs illustrating how the internet has influenced "significant events, momentary fads and mystically-tinged absurdities" and "question how we might recognize and assign weight to what's genuinely important." Video for the album's first track, "We No Who U R," after the jump along with the rest of this week's new releases ...

Tim Chaisson, The Other Side (Bumstead)

Samantha Crain, Kid Face (Ramseur Records)
The new album from the folk/Americana singer-songwriter is produced by John Vanderslice. "Never Going Back" video below.

Eat Skull, III (Woodsist)

Farewell My Love, Mirror Mirror (Standby)

Fatboy Slim, Big Beach Bootique 5 (The End)
A CD/DVD release.

Flume, Flume (Mom + Pop)
The 21-year-old wunderkind producer sees a worldwide debut with his self-titled first album. Listen to "Holdin' On" below.

Sallie Ford and The Sound Outside, Untamed Beast (Partisan)

HRVRD, From The Bird's Cage (Equal Vision)

Iceage, You’re Nothing (Matador)
Copenhagen's post-punk foursome presents their dense and raucous sophomore album. Spin writes, "Clamoring drum breaks and shoegaze-warped guitar fills bolster the band's now-familiar breakneck assault, which still might leave you out of breath." Check out the video for the album's opening track, "Ecstasy," below.

Mark Kozelek, Like Rats (Caldo Verde)
A 13-song covers LP from the Red House Painters singer-songwriter; featuring Kozelek's acoustic versions of Bad Brains, Misfits, The Decendents, Josh Turner, Ted Nugent, Sonny and Cher, and others.

Lady Lamb the Beekeeper, Ripely Pine (Ba Da Bing!)
Folk rock songstress Aly Spaltro is Lady Lamb the Beekeeper. This is her first full-length. Listen to "Bird Balloons" below.

Jamie Lidell, Jamie Lidell (Warp)

Bobby Long, Wishbone (MapleMusic/ATO)

Lotus, Build (SCI Fidelity)
The live jamtronic five-piece from Denver and Philly fuses elements of jazz, funk, breaks, big beat, house music and rock into grooving instrumentals that are studded with blips, zips other electro sonic shifts and breaks, synthesizer drama and sci-fi soundscapes, and guitars jumping between rhythmic riffage and note-shredded solos. This is the band's brand new live-to-analog album, and their tour in support hits The Ritz in Ybor tomorrow night. Listen to "Massif" below.

Lusine, The Waiting Room (Ghostly International)
Seattle-based experimental electro-pop producer Jeff McIlwain delivers his third album. Listen to second single "Without a Plan" below.

Major Lazer, Major Lazer Frees The Universe (Mad Decent/Downtown)

Jason Marsalis Vibes Quartet, In A World of Mallets (Elm)

Matmos, The Marriage Of True Minds (Thrill Jockey)
For the past four years, Baltimore-based duo Matmos (Drew Daniel and M.C. Schmidt) has been conducting parapsychological experiments based upon the classic Ganzfeld ("total field") ESP experiment, but with a twist: instead of sending and receiving simple graphic patterns, test subjects were put into a state of sensory deprivation by covering their eyes and listening to white noise on headphones, and then Daniel attempted to transmit "the concept of the new Matmos record" directly into their minds. The resulting transcripts of the videotaped psychic experiments became conceptual scores used by Matmos to generate the nine songs on their first new full-length in five years. According to Matmos, this is the first electronic album ever to start with tap dancing and end with doom metal, and reveals their tendency to throw together the most unusual influences and sounds in their freaky rhythmic elecotro-pop; this album draws on stomping techno, ominous synths, musique concrete, Latin rhythms, and Ethiopian music. Guest musicians including Dan Deacon, Dominique Leone, Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak) and others. Video for the freaked-out "Very Large Green Triangles" below.

Misfit Mod, Islands & Islands (Stars & Letters)

Mitzi, Truly Alive (Future Classic)

Dawn McCarthy and Bonnie “Prince” Billy, What the Brothers Sang (Drag City)

Parenthetical Girls, Privilege (Abridged) (Slender Means Society/Marriage)
The fourth full length from P-Girls is an official, abridged version of the Privilege series of EPs that began in 2010, and also includes a DVD, "featuring 7 promotional films, blood draw documentation, live performances, & other ephemera."

Pony Time, Go Find Your Own (Per Se Records)

Psychic Ills, One Track Mind (Sacred Bones)

Puscifer, Donkey Punch The Night EP (Puscifer Entertainment)

Red Jacket Mine, Someone Else's Cake (Fin Records)

The Relatives, The Electric Word (Yep Roc)
Originally formed in 1970 by Dallas gospel singer Rev. Gean West and his brother Rev. Tommie West, The Relatives marry traditional gospel, gritty soul and wah-wah psychedelia in songs examining issues like war, addiction and inequality. After more than 40 years of performing, the brothers are finally issuing a debut album, which was produced in Austin by Spoon's Jim Eno. Listen to the groove-driving "Bad Trip" below.

Sapient, Slump (Pigeons & Planes)
The underground Portland hip hop artist with indie rock swagger presents a new LP. First single "Shotgun In My Spaceship" reveals his unique style, which he's called "a more musical sibling to indie hip hop. You could think of it as a more functional little brother, who learned from his elder brother's mistakes." Video below.

Sing Fang, Flowers (Morr Music)

STRFKR, Miracle Mile (Polyvinyl)
Portland's beloved electro-pop outfit added multi-instrumentalist Patrick Morris to the ranks and adopted a new, collaborative approach to songwriting and recording for their third full-length. First single "While I'm Alive" below.

Trinidad James, Don't Be S.A.F.E. (Def Jam)

VYIE, Nightingale (Post-Echo)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Loaf

More by Leilani Polk

Search Events

CL's Twitter Feed

© 2015 SouthComm, Inc.
Powered by Foundation

Web Analytics