Tuesday, December 18, 2012

New Music Tuesday! (December 18): T.I., Django Unchained Soundtrack, Buddy Guy & more

Audio & video included.

Posted By on Tue, Dec 18, 2012 at 6:30 AM

The last batch of new releases for 2012 - or the last batch with anything worthwhile, anyway. The next new releases you'll see on the CL site will be for Tues., Jan. 8, 2013! Stay tuned ... but until then, I've included info and links for the very few you want to know about most for this week below, plus one or two you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months.

Bell Gardens, Full Sundown Assembly (Truth Cult)

Capital Cities, Capital Cities EP (Capitol Records)

Chief Keef, Finally Rich (Interscope)

Eric Clapton, Slowhand 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Polydor)
A two-disc expanded version of the Clapton classic; disc one features a remastered and expanded version of Slowhand while disc two is a concert from the era, Live At Hammersmith Odeon, April 27, 1977.

Dani Shay, One: The Winter EP (self-release)

The-Dream, Terius Nash: 1977 (Def Jam)
The fourth album from the hip hop soul artist (its title referencing his real name and year of birth) was originally supposed to be a "stop-gap" release to whet the appetites of fans when the release date of his intended fourth album, Love IV, was delayed. It was issued for free last August in a download-only format, but has been reworked and re-issued this week as his fourth official album after the official kibosh on Love IV.

Matt Duke, Love On A Major Scale EP (Rock Ridge Music)
Check out the rest of this week's entries after the jump, with audio and video included ...

Earl Greyhound, Besides Seasides (Hawk Race Records)
A B-Sides EP; listen here.

Buddy Guy, Live At Legends (RCA)

Picture Me Broken, Mannequins EP (Standby Records)

The Pogues, The Pogues In Paris - 30th Anniversary Concert At The Olympia (Universal Music Group)

RUSH, 2112 Deluxe Box Set (Mercury)
Rush's 1976 platinum-selling futuristic rock opera breakthrough, 2112, sees a re-release just in time for 12/21/12 celebrations and is offered in three configurations. The two Deluxe Editions are CD/DVD or CD/Blu-Ray combos that include a digitally remastered copy of the album with three bonus unreleased live tracks ("Overture," and "The Temples of Syrinx," from Northland Coliseum, June 25, 1981, and "A Passage To Bangkok" from Manchester Apollo, June 17, 1980). Expanded artwork, lyrics, a 5.1 surround sound audio mix, an interactive digital comic book and new album cover by original album designer Hugh Syme, unpublished photos, and new liner notes by David Fricke of Rolling Stone. The super deluxe contains the CD/Blu-Ray and is offered in a hardbound bookcase packed with a 40-page comic book representing every song on 2112.

T.I., Trouble Man: Heavy is the Head (Atlantic)
The eighth studio LP from Atlanta rapper and hip hop artist T.I., which he started recording immediately upon his release from serving a nine-month prison term on federal gun charges. Guests like CeeLo Green, Andre 3000 and Pink preside, with production from longtime collaborators Pharell and DJ Toomp. "Ball" featuring Lil Wayne below.

Tiga, Non Stop (PIAS America)
The Canadian EDM DJ/producer presents a new mix. Official video for "Plush" featuring guest vocals and production by Matthew Dear below.

Various Artists, Django Unchained Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Universal Republic)
Director Quentin Tarantino collaborated with a range of artists artists to create original music for use in his latest film and original motion picture soundtrack, among them, Rick Ross ("100 Black Coffins"), produced by and featuring Jamie Foxx; John Legend ("Who Did That To You?"), "Ancora Qui" by Ennio Morricone and Elisa, and Anthony Hamilton and Elayna Boynton's poignant duet "Freedom." According to Tarantino, "In addition to the new original songs I am also using a lot of older recordings on the soundtrack - many of which came from my personal vinyl collection ... complete with all the pops and cracks. I even kept the sound of the needle being put down on the record. Basically because I wanted people's experience to be the same as mine when they hear this soundtrack for the first time."

Various Artists, Fool's Gold Presents: Loosies (Fool's Gold Records)
The label presents its inaugural rap compilation featuring 22 new tracks curated by label founders A-Trak and Nick Catchdubs of new music from FG family and friends, among them, El-P and Flosstradamus, A-Trak, a new Casey Veggies / Chuck Inglish collab ("Sauna," - watch the video below), Danny Brown, GrandeMarshall, Donnis, Party Supplies and many others.

Wild International, Lake Tones (self-release)
The Long Island three-piece was formed in May 2009 and inspired by the freaky folk and experimental pop sounds of Akron/Family and Animal Collective, among others. This is their new six-song EP. Listen to "Creeks" and "Young Wayfarer" below for a taste of just exactly what they're all about.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Loaf

More by Leilani Polk

Search Events

CL's Twitter Feed

© 2014 SouthComm, Inc.
Powered by Foundation

Web Analytics